Tanzania hits back by blocking Kenya Airways from flying into their country

Tanzania President John Pombe Magufuli

The government of Tanzania has banned Kenya Airways from flying into the country until further notice.

Tanzania retaliated after Kenya excluded it from the list of countries allowed to operate international flights starting August 1.

Tanzania noted through the media its exclusion in the list of countries whose people will be allowed to travel into Kenya from August 1.

READ ALSO: Uhuru, Raila and Ruto wish Muslim faithfuls a Happy Eid-Ul-Adha

“The Authority regrets to inform you that, on a reciprocal basis, the Tanzanian Government has decided to nullify its approval for the Kenya Airways (KQ) flights between Nairobi and Dar/Kilimanjaro/Zanzibar effective August 1, 2020 until further notice. The approval was granted to KQ vide our letter,” reads the statement from Tanzanian Civil Aviation Authority boss Hamza Johari.

Moreover, the letter from Tanzania also rescinds all previous arrangements that permit KQ flights into the United Republic of Tanzania.

Countries allowed to operate flights to Kenya include China, Zimbabwe, South Korea, Japan, Canada, Ethiopia, Switzerland, Rwanda, Uganda, Namibia and Morocco.

Kenya will resume international commercial travel on August 1 after it was suspended since March 25, 2020.

READ ALSO: The last words of CS Sicily Kariuki’s daughter before she died

You have successfully subscribed to the newsletter

There was an error while trying to send your request. Please try again.

The Brief will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing.